Musings of a Gaijin MD

Life in Japan as a Foreign Doctor

Musings: Trip to the States November 10, 2011

Filed under: Sightseeing — GaijinMD @ 4:52 PM

Never fear; I haven’t disappeared.  I recently just went back to the States for a friend’s wedding.  While different in scenery to Japan, autumn in the Texas Hill Country, especially lakeside, sure did make for a good competition.  It was a gorgeous wedding.  Many congrats to my friend!

Saltlick_07

Other food for thought: While Japan certainly is a gastronomy haven, it does lack certain foods so I made sure I got my fill of good ol’ Texas BBQ, Tex-Mex, and Vietnamese food (yes, there is quite a large Vietnamese population in TX).  I wouldn’t be surprised if my pants became tighter.

On reflection, while I have not been homesick at all these past 3 months in Japan, when I was boarding my plane from TX back to Japan this time, it hit me all of a sudden; I’m leaving home again (and yes, no matter how far and wide I go, I will always consider myself a Texan).  Oh well, after landing safely back in Japan and starting work again, the feelings ebbed away.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to get back into the groove of things here in Japan and plan more explorations to help prevent the dreariness of the lack of sunlight for the upcoming winter.  I’m hoping to get in some dog-sledding and seeing drift ice!

 

Leave a Reply

