Musings of a Gaijin MD

Life in Japan as a Foreign Doctor

Morning Report: Take 1 September 18, 2011

Filed under: Hospital — GaijinMD @ 10:19 AM
Tags: ,
Readers own scan of the PD document

Image via Wikipedia

For a month after I started working, the interns had their own morning reports for which I facilitated.  The morning reports occurred 2-3x/week.  Prior to their presentation day, I had asked that the resident either come by the office to discuss the case with me or email me their presentation.

As time went on, I realized that it was much more effective if I could meet with the residents face-to-face to discuss the case instead of my emailing out a War-and-Peace length response containing suggestions/corrections.  I don’t even know if they understood everything that I had written.

My impressions of these rough drafts prior to the official presentation day was that the intended presentations did not contain very much information (1-2 sentences only in HPI, history of present illness).  I’m not sure if it’s because A.) they are used to the morning report style of only giving out a small bit of HPI and have the audience guess multiple questions or B.) they do not really understand what type of information goes into the HPI.  I’ve concluded that it’s probably a combination of the above reasons.

Regardless, I’ve been trying to steer them towards the style of presenting a full H&P (history and physical) with my reasons being A.) it’ll be more time efficient and B.) it’ll teach the residents what type of information needs to be included in HPI’s (and also ROS, review of systems–which they tend to leave out entirely).  For those who believe that it may be less interactive, and therefore less engaging and interesting, my own personal experiences with morning reports with full presentations speak to the contrary.

Well, we’ll keep on truckin’.  Stay tuned for more!

 

Leave a Reply

